My Life

This has been a rough week. I hate when I feel that I’m making strides and then a setback comes out of nowhere. I live every day with chronic illnesses and some days I can put on a smile and carry on, but other days I feel hollow.  Today is one of those days.

It’s been 10 years since I was first diagnosed with Endometriosis. It has robbed me of many things, but I am most angry that it stole my health. I now have 4 autoimmune diseases along with Endometriosis. Women are given very few options to treat this disease. This disease is unrelenting, a savage beast, and there is no cure. Therefore, one of our only options is surgery after surgery to remove it.  I’ve already had organs removed because of it, yet it still resides on my bladder, my solitary kidney, my liver, and my intestines. I have no immune system left and I’m tired.

I want my life back. I want my career back. I want to feel useful again. I want to be a better wife to my husband. I want to be a better friend, sister, and daughter. I want people to realize how hard it is to stay afloat when you are struggling inside everyday.  I want a cure. I will keep fighting. I have no other choice.

6 thoughts on “My Life

Leave a Reply

